When you get up in the morning, you must have a song - Ray Charles

Saturday, March 28, 2009

Lonnie Smith - Think!

A Saturday night bonus with some more soul/organ jazz. This time being a Blue Note offering of Lonnie Smith but with Lee Morgan adding additional fire. The additional percussion section is sweet as hell. This terribly hip lp comes from 1968. It is once again a vinyl rescue saved from a box of junk in a relatively cool antiques store. I am happy it was somehow overlooked. The cover of Aretha's Think works surprisingly well. And Slouchin' just rolls along as it should.

BST 84290

1. Son of Ice Bag
2. The Call of the Wild
3. Think
4. Three Blind Mice
5. Slouchin'
Lee Morgan - trumpet
David Newman - tenor sax and flute
Melvin Sparks - guitar
Lonnie Smith - organ
Marion Booker, Jr. - drums
Henry (Pucho) Brown - timbales
Willie Blevins - conga
Noberto Apellaniz - conga

Shirley Scott -Workin'

Here's another nice old Shirley Scott lp rescued from vinyl obscurity. On this record she works with a couple of different trios and an odd setup including guitar and additional piano. Swinging organ blues - just the way we like em.
The three sessions represented here were all recorded at Van Gelder in '58 (*), 60 (+) and '61(~), but the record was not released until 67.

Prestige 7424

1. Miles' Theme *
2. Autumn Leaves +
3. Bridge Blue *
4. Slaughter On 10th Avenue +
5. Work Song ~
6. Chapped Chops ~
Shirley Scott organ
George Duvivier - bass *
George Tucker - bass +
Arthur Edgehill - Drums *, +
Ronnell Bright - ~
Wally Richardson - ~
Peck Morrison - ~
Roy Haynes - ~

Tuesday, March 24, 2009

Barre Phillips - For All It Is

For this outing I went for something completely different. This once again is mined from the collection that I burned for a friend.

Back about 1968, Barre Phillips recorded what was widely regarded as the 1st solo bass lp, Unaccompanied Barre. At this point Barre was already a veteran of several successful combos and an accomplished if unheralded bassist.
Feb. of 1971 brought about the 1st bassists duo lp with Dave Holland, cleverly titled Music For Two Basses.
Apparently Phillips' muse was running in high gear as just a month later saw the release of this posts gem, For All It Is. This record gathers together 4 bassists and a percussionist performing 7 original Barre compositions.

For All It Is taken from a vinyl copy of Japo Records 60003.

per the back cover - this is a stereo recording...
Left Channel, Right Channel
Barre Phillips, Barry Guy, Palle Danielson, J. F Jenny-Clarke
Stu Martin
1. Just 8
2. Whoop
3. Few Too
4. La Palette
5. Y En A
6. Dribble
7. Y.M.
recorded in Hamburg, Germany, 3.12.71

Wednesday, March 11, 2009

Tete Montoliu - Catalonian Folksongs/Music For Perla

Here's a couple by Spanish pianist Tete Montoliu. I've not seen these posted before and these are my vinyl rips.

The first offering is a solo outing of his renditions of Catalonian folksongs, a genre Mr Montoliu knows intimately. I knew nothing of this fellow when I picked this record up for a couple of bucks at a flea market. I completely forgot that I had bought it until one late summer evening, I had had a wee bit and the night was winding down and cooling off with a nice breeze. Flipping through some recent purchases I ran across this and dropped it on. I was completely taken aback by the beauty of the music, seemly so foreign to my ear and Tete's playing which made it still seem like an old friend.

Of course I know now that Tete spent time with several jazz greats including Dexter Gordon and Roland Kirk and I enjoy that work but I always find myself drifting back to this record especially at that certain time at night when I need familiar soothing strains.

Despite TM's fierce nationalism, he recorded this record in Holland in 1977. Catalonian Folksongs. Timeless Muse TI 304.

1. Cigales al ven (grasshoppers in the wind)
2. Canco de matinada (Song of the morning)
3. Manuel
4. Me embaix apeu (I'm leaving on foot)
5. Una gitarra (A guitar)
6. Ruco
7. Quin plan teniu senor (What are ou going to do, sir?)
8. Sota un cirere flurit (beneath a flowering cherry tree)
9. La Amelia esta malalba (Amelia is sick)
10. Els segadors (The threshers)
(Catalonian National Anthem)

This music on Catalonian Folksongs is beautiful but the lp is short so I am including part of the much better known lp Music for Perla. In keeping with the mood, this is also a solo lp. This was recorded a couple of years earlier, 1974, in Copenhagen. These songs were recorded the same day as his much heralded Catalonian Fire lp.

Side One of the record is for the most part standards by Rogers, Van Heusen, etc and is pretty but unremarkable, therefore I am skipping those for now. Side 2 of the lp, which is what i have included is TM compositions that are unknown but far less restrained and more in the hard bop idiom. I like these songs alot but still prefer the cultural distinctiveness of his native roots songs.

1. I feel all alone
2. Circle
3. Gentofte 4349
4. Apartment 512

Inner City 2021

Monday, March 9, 2009

Thad Jones, Mel Lewis and Umo

Here's one done full jazz orchestra style. This record was recorded in Helsinki in '77. UMO is an acronym for The New Music Orchestra so I think these guys may have playing together already and Jones/Lewis step in a guest leaders. The music swings and the solos by this unknown bunch are quite good.

The record is self titled and was released on RCA as AFL 1-3423. Once again my vinyl rip.

The Finnish band is too large and the names too obtuse for me to type out here.

1. Groove Merchant
2. It Only Happens Every Time
3. Tip-Toe
4. The Great One
5. Kids Are Pretty People
6. Summary
7. Little Pixie
8. Only For Now
update: I posted this on another site was informed that UMO is still around and still prolifically recording this intelligent and adventurous big band music.

Wednesday, March 4, 2009


Ok - a generic enough title - but not mine. Sill an opportunity for a generic post. No images found for this record. Another New World compilation and I think we all know where this one is headed. Some nice rare versions of songs on this though... all again in glorious mono.

And here is a link to the liner notes in a pdf file. All 22 pages!!!


NW 271

1. Congo Blues - Red Norvo and his Selected Sextet
2. You're Not The Kind - Sarah Vaughn w/ Tadd Dameron's Orchestra
3. Shaw Nuff - Dizzy Gillespie All-Star Quintet
4. Parker's Mood - Charlie Parker All-Stars
5. Things To Come - Dizzy Gillespie and his Orchestra
6. Relaxin' At Camarillo - Charlie Parker's New Stars
7. Embracable You - Charlie Parker Quintet
8. Ko-Ko - Charlie Parker's Reboppers
9. Lemon Drop - Woody Herman and his Orchestra
10. Un Poco loco - Bud Powell Trio
11. Jahbero - Tadd Dameron Septet
12. Misterioso - Thelonious Monk Quartet
13. What Is This Thing Called Love - Clifford Brown-Max Roach Quintet
14. Stop Time - Horace Silver Quintet