When you get up in the morning, you must have a song - Ray Charles

Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Teddy Wilson Trio - Mr. Gershwin

Sometimes I get so wrapped up in new jazz that I forget just how much fun it can be. I think it is the no frills approach that gets me.

Here's a straight ahead recording of Gershwin tunes. Yup, heard a million of em. Good thing they hold up.

Particularly when played as well as these.

Teddy Wilson Trio
Mr. Gershwin

1. Liza (All The Clouds'll Roll Away)
2. Nice Work If You Can Get It
3. Oh, Lady Be Good
4. Somebody Loves Me
5. But Not For Me
6. I Got Rhythm
7. The Man I Love
8. Bess, You Is My Woman Now
9. Embraceable You
10. Our Love Is Here To Stay
11. I Got A Crush On You
12. Summertime
13. Our Love Is Here To Stay*
14. But Not For Me*
15. Liza...*

Teddy Wilson - piano
Arvell Shaw - bass
Bert Dahlander - drums

recorded 1.19.59

*alt. takes

Columbia CL 1318